Facebook unintentionally uploaded email contacts of 1.5 million users without consent

Facebook brings back View as Public feature

Facebook, Tech News
Share and like it on social platforms

Facebook relaunched ‘View as Public’ feature that allows you to set the profile for non-friend. In addition, Facebook is adding an “Edit Public Details” button directly to your profile, which will make it easier to adjust what information about you is publicly visible.

It allows users to manage the profile from the perspective of someone they aren’t friends with.

“Today, we’re making it easier for people to manage their publicly visible information on Facebook with two updates: (1) we’re bringing back the ‘View As Public’ feature and (2) we’re adding an ‘Edit Public Details’ button directly to profiles,” Facebook said in a tweet on Tuesday.

“We have completed our security review and are re-enabling the version of the ‘View As’ feature that lets people see what their profile looks like to people they aren’t friends with on Facebook,” said the company.

Facebook removed all “View As” features in September 2018 after a vulnerability with the feature allowed hackers to steal Facebook access tokens for almost 50 million accounts.

Leave a Reply

  Subscribe  
Notify of